Spirit to Sparkle

Recipes, Activities, & Inspiration for Vibrant Living

Cranberry Datorade

This morning Jack Frost came to visit and brought along a freezing cold, 3 degree morning.  There’s nothing quite like a hot cuppa tea or jo’ on a day like that, but I was in the mood for something fruity.  What’s a gal to do?

Well, I decided to try to make some pure cranberry juice (organic, store-bought) actually taste appealing.  After pouring two cups of the tart red into a mason jar, I mixed in 1 cup of freshly pressed apple juice and took a sip.  Mmmm…nnnasty!  Blech!  This stuff was awful!  So I quickly made a banana berry smoothie (can I talk about those enough or what?) and went on my merry way to work, cranberry concoction in tow in case I decided to be bold.

Well, my boldness got me through maybe a half a cup of the very full mason jar before I left work for the day.  Back at home, having committed myself to drinking it, I was about to dump it down the hatch when an idea hit me.  If I could use water to make a smoothie, and dates to sweeten tomato sauce, maybe, just maybe, I could make this stuff palatable.

Into the kitchen I headed, mason jar in hand, and stood before my ginormous box of medjool dates. (Seriously, it’s like two briefcases full.) I selected three and went over to my ancient blender (I believe it may be older than I am). A risky liquefying cycle later, I sampled the new mixture, and it was…. BLECH!

Image


My blender looks a lot like this, but with age spots.

So I added a banana, and then some more dates, and then another banana, and then even more dates… until finally, it actually tasted good!  Not only good, but special, like some sort of dessert drink.  Oh yeah, I’m like the Benjamin Franklin of smoothie making… if he was a girl…

In short, if you, too, want to experience this awesomeness, here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 cups cranberry juice (I used organic store-bought juice; if you make your own, be sure to dilute it with water)
  • 1 cup fresh pressed apple juice (I used apples I had on hand, Gala & Cortland, but use whatever you fancy)
  • 9 dates, pitted
  • 2 medium sized bananas

Run everything through your blender (try not to make a mess!) until smooth. When finished, pour into a mason jar and enjoy! If necessary, only blend with some liquid and mix everything together in a mason jar with a spoon.

Yum yum yum. Not only will this smoothie treat taste good and fill you up, but it also has a number of health benefits. Cranberries, for instance, are good for your kidneys and urinary tract, and are also powerful antioxidants. Hip hip hooray!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2013 by in Raw Vegan, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Navigation

